We begin…

I spent 5 years at the University of New Mexico (from 2001-2006) trying to learn German, reading Husserl, Heidegger, Scheler, or all things genuinely phenomenological, and hoping not to suffer the same fate as the previous Latino/Hispanic that attempted a PhD at that glorious institution (he died of a brain aneurism in the late 70s right before defending his dissertation…so I was told). I kept his picture over my computer to remind myself that I, too, was somehow out of place and might not make it to the end. As fate would have it, I survived UNM, but not before writing a dissertation on Husserl (thanks Iain!) and then, at the very end, running into a weird little book in Spanish by a Mexican philosopher, Jorge Portilla, titled La fenomenologia del relajo. The phenomenology of what? (You have to read the book to find out). I spent the next 6 years thinking about that weird text, until Eduardo Mendieta encouraged me to write the damn book that had been in my head for so long and see what happened. I did just that, and I published my book in 2012. That book is a long commentary on my understanding of Portilla’s text, so I thought it fitting to include the actual text in translation as an Appendix. The task of translating Portilla into English was grueling, to say the least–I’ll save that story for another post–but I believe, now, that it was necessary and valuable–not only for myself, but for those that have accepted it as such.  And then my partner in torture, Robert Sanchez (no relation, really!), suggested we do more translations and show the American philosophical establishment that Mexican philosophy exists and that it exists without apology-sin mas! So here we are…our aim is to dig into the archives and pull out the grandeur of 20th century Mexican philosophy. To translate, talk about, analyze, dissect, comprehend, Emilio Uranga, Samuel Ramos, Luis Villoro, Portilla, Antonio Caso, Juaquin MacGregor, Maria Elvira Bermudez, etc., and make them available to those who find Western philosophy lacking a perspective, an orientation, or an identity. This blog will be a record of this struggle…so, stay tuned…

CAS

4 responses to “We begin…

  1. Esto es lo que hay que hacer… filosofia sin mas. Gran iniciativa Carlos y Roberto!
    Of course, in Latin America thought travels through indigenous and popular figurations… much more to open up beyond academic philosophy!

    Alejandro

    • Esto es lo que hay que hacer… filosofia sin mas. Gran iniciativa Carlos y Roberto!
      Of course, in Latin America thought travels through indigenous and popular figurations… much more to open up beyond academic philosophy!

      Alejandro

  2. This is rad! Thank you for doing this, so that philoso-pochas like me can actually engage with the material.

  3. Perfecto! I’ve muttered enough about phenomenology to friends that one of them sent me the link to this blog! I’ll definitely be reading along!

Leave a Reply

