Thoughts on this project, or language, or I don’t know

Emilio Uranga, perhaps echoing Ortega (“Preface for Germans”), but certainly before Rorty and Lyotard, proclaimed that he knew “nothing of humanity in general” but only of “humanity in particular,” and thus couldn’t presume to advocate philosophical “truths” or certainties. As a proto-post-modern, he confidently anchored himself to the philosophy of “lo mexicano” for several years (1947-1952). To me, this is his most exciting period, and one that I will certainly be thinking about over the coming year. I’ve published a couple of essays on Uranga in the past—in English— (in Continental Philosophy Review, Intuicion: Revista de filosofia), but I’ve done so with hesitancy, as I’ve never truly understood the meaning of the task onto which he, along with the rest of los hiperiones, were embarking (this is an embarrassing admission, for sure). I believe the reason for my blindness had to do with the fact that I was reading Uranga by myself, alone, with my own language, listening to my own echo inside my own skull, with my own Spanish, which has certainly deteriorated over the past 30 years! Language is a relationship that must always be affirmed. I didn’t affirm it, and so I’ve lost my knack for reading and understanding it. And that’s a goddam shame! But as I take up this project, I feel the urgency to recover Uranga and my relationship to my “native” language, to make both matter again…at least to myself.

And so says EU:

“We have reached that historical and cultural age in which we commit

ourselves to live in accordance with our own being and from there arises

the imperative to reveal [sacar en limpio] the morphology and

dynamics of our own being.” Emilio Uranga, Analysis de ser del Mexicano, 1952, pg. 10. 

CAS

Leave a Reply

